Reckless driving points in Virginia and its scale system is based on assessing points based on your driving behavior and the good or bad score you can get. There is no limit on how bad your score can get, as it gets added to your driving record history. Really bad drivers can get reckless driving points in Virginia with a point score of -30 or even -50. Such a point system record can surely create a ripple effect on your insurance rates and traffic court consequences, which would eventually lead to a point where you have to pay the fine charges ranging from $200 to $300, based on point system record.
Reckless Driving Point System and Scale in Virginia
If you are charged with the crime of reckless driving and have earned reckless driving points, then the court or the Virginia Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), may review, evaluate or assess different points for each traffic or reckless driving violation which you have committed. Most serious reckless driving or traffic violations and offenses will earn you negative six points or even more. The may include but not limited to:
- Driving under influence
- Reckless driving
- Driving with a suspended driving license
- Hit and run
- Over speeding with 20 miles per hour over the prescribed legal speed
These and other driving or reckless driving offenses will let you earn four or three negative points. Even a simple speeding ticket, going one to nine miles over the legal posted speed limit can let you earn negative 3 points, which would be added permanently to your driving record.
Reckless Driving Point in Virginia
The trick to win over reckless driving points in Virginia is simply to know about the various convictions which result in point assessments. By knowing about various convictions and their point scales, you can save yourself from convicted with those points. For each reckless driving point in Virginia or driving incident, including speeding or going over a legal speed limit led you to earn a negative point. These incidents can result in a variety of charged offenses with each demerit point. The law enforcement officer or the patrol officer who decides on what charge and point to award you. You can also challenge the charges in a court through your legal reckless driving lawyer. A good lawyer would know how to fight against your reckless driving point in Virginia and fine charges. He or she can even get a serious fine charge omitted or dismissed and result in a far less reckless driving point in your wallet and as a result, far less burden and damage to your wallet.
Here are a few reckless driving point scale in Virginia
- Fleeing or running from a law enforcement or patrol officer – Negative 8 points
- Speeding in a school zone area – Negative 6 points
- Reckless driving – Negative sex points
- Hit and run – Negative 6 points
Speeding 20 miles per hour or more over the posted legal speed limit – Negative 6 points